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 COMPLETION OF UB-04 FOR INTERMEDIATE CARE FACILITY ADDICTION SERVICES 
 
 
The uniform bill for institutional providers is known as the UB-04 and is the replacement for the UB-92 form.  
Starting July 30, 2007 all institutional paper claims must use the UB-04; the UB-92 will no longer be acceptable 
after this date.   
 
The instructions are organized by the corresponding boxes or “Form Locators” on the paper UB-04 and detail 
only those data elements required for Medical Assistance (MA) paper claim billing.  For electronic billing, 
please refer to the Maryland Medicaid 837-I Electronic Companion Guide, which can be found on our website 
at: 

http://www.dhmh.state.md.us/hipaa/transandcodesets.html
 
The UB-04 is a uniform institutional bill suitable for use in billing multiple third party liability (TPL) payers.  
When submitting the above claims, complete all items required by each payer who is to receive a copy of the 
form. 
 
Intermediate Care Facilities-Addictions services are billed on a UB-04.  The instructions for billing on the UB-
04 will be mailed with the provider application forms.  Providers are required to bill one calendar month of 
service per invoice.  Use Revenue code 0100 to bill for the residential services.  Billing questions or requests for 
more specific information should be directed to the Institutional Hotline at 410-767-5457.  Policy questions 
should be directed to the staff specialist for ICF-As, Venus Lee at 410-767-1737. 
 
The Maryland Medicaid statute of limitations for timely claim submission is as follows:  Invoices for ICF-A 
services must be received within 9 months of the month of service on the invoice.  If a claim is received within 
the 9 month limit but rejected, resubmission will be accepted within 60 days of the date of rejection or within 9 
months of the date of discharge (or month of service), whichever is the longer period.  If a claim is rejected 
because of late receipt, the patient may not be billed for that claim.  If a claim is submitted and neither a 
payment nor a rejection is received within 90 days, the claim should be resubmitted. 
 
For any claim initially submitted to Medicare and for which services have been approved or denied, requests for 
reimbursement shall be submitted and received by the Program within 9 months of the date of service or 120 
days from the Medicare remittance date, as shown on the Explanation of Medicare Benefits, whichever is later. 
 
All third-party resources, such as insurance or Worker’s Compensation, should be billed first and payment 
either received or denied before the Medical Assistance Program may be billed for any portion not covered.  
However, if necessary to meet the 9-month deadline for receipt of the claim(s), the Medical Assistance Program 
may be billed first and then reimbursed if the third-party payer makes payment later. 
 
Invoices may be typed or printed.  If printed, the entries must be legible. Do not use pencil or a red pen to 
complete the invoice.  Otherwise, payment may be delayed or the claim rejected. 

http://www.dhmh.state.md.us/hipaa/transandcodesets.html
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Completed invoices are to be mailed to the following address: 
 

Maryland Medical Assistance Program 
Division of Claims Processing 
P.O. Box 1935 
Baltimore, MD 21203  
 

Adjustments should be completed when a specific bill has been issued for a specific provider, patient, payer, 
insured and “statement covers period” date(s); the bill has been paid; and a supplemental payment is needed. To 
submit an adjustment, a provider should complete a DHMH-4518A, Adjustment Form and mail that form to the 
address below: 
 

Maryland Medical Assistance Program 
Adjustment Section 
P.O. Box 13045 
Baltimore, MD 21203 
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The instructions that follow are keyed to the form locator number and headings on the UB-04 form. 
 
FL 01 Billing Provider Name, Address, and Telephone Number 

 
Required.  Enter the name and service location of the provider submitting the bill.   
 
Line 1 Enter the provider name filed with the Medical Assistance Program. 

 
Line 2 Enter the street address to which the invoice should be returned if it is rejected due to 

provider error. 
 
Line 3 Enter the City, State & full nine-digit ZIP Code 
 
Line 4 Telephone, Fax, County Code (Optional) 

 
Note: Checks and remittance advices are sent to the provider’s address as it appears in the 

Program’s provider master file. 
  
FL 02  Pay-to Name and Address 
 

Leave Blank – Internal Use Only 
 

FL 03a Patient Control Number 
 
Required.  Enter the patient’s unique alphanumeric control number assigned to the patient by 
the hospital.  A maximum of 20 positions will be returned on the remittance advice to the 
provider.   

 
FL 03b Medical/Health Record Number 
 
 Optional.  Enter the medical/health record number assigned to the patient by the hospital when 

the provider needs to identify for future inquiries the actual medical record of the patient.  Up to 
13 positions may be entered.   

 
FL 04  Type of Bill    
 

Required.  Enter the 3-digit code (do not report leading zero) indicating the specific type of 
bill.  Entering the leading zero will cause your claim to deny.  The third digit indicates the bill 
sequence for this particular episode of care and is referred to as a “frequency” code. All three 
digits are required to process a claim.   
 
The “x” in the Type of Bill column of the matrix represents a placeholder for the frequency code. 
A list of the frequency codes follows the matrix.  Only those frequency codes highlighted in 
grey can be used for Maryland Medicaid Intermediate Care Facility-Addiction claims.   
 

Type of Bill 
Do NOT report 

leading zero 

 
Description 

Inpatient/Outpatient 
General Designation 

065x Intermediate Care Facility – Addictions IP 
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Type of Bill Frequency Codes: 
1 Admit Through Discharge Claims The provider uses this code for a bill encompassing 

an entire inpatient confinement for which it expects 
payment from the payer.   

2 Interim Billing - First Claim This code is to be used for the first (admit) of an 
expected series of bills for the same confinement or 
course of treatment for which the provider expects 
payment from the payer 

3 Interim Billing- Continuing 
Claim 

This code is to be used when a bill for the same 
confinement or course of treatment has previously 
been submitted and it is expected that further bills for 
the same confinement or course of treatment will be 
submitted for which payment is expected from the 
payer 

4 Interim Billing - Last Claim This code is to be used for the last (discharge) of a 
series of bills for the same confinement or course of 
treatment for which payment is expected from the 
payer.   

7 Replacement of Prior Claim 
FUTURE USE – NOT USED 

This code is to be used when a specific bill has been 
issued for a specific provider, patient, payer, insured 
and “statement covers period” and it needs to be 
restated in its entirety, except for the same identity 
information.  In using this code, the payer is to 
operate on the principal that the original bill is null 
and void, and that the information present on this bill 
represents a complete replacement of the previously 
issued bill.  This code is not intended to be used in 
lieu of a Late Charge(s) Only claim. 

8 Void/Cancel of Prior Claim 
FUTURE USE – NOT USED 

This code reflects the elimination in its entirety of a 
previously submitted bill for a specific provider, 
patient, insured and “statement covers period” dates.  
The provider may wish to follow a Void Bill with a 
bill containing the correct information when a Payer 
is unable to process a Replacement to a Prior Claim.  
The appropriate Frequency Code must be used when 
submitting the new bill. 

 
Note:  Frequency codes “7” and “8” will be available in the future.  Do not use them until 
notified of their availability.  Use of these codes currently will result in rejection of your invoice. 

 
FL 05  Federal Tax No.  Required 

 
Not required.  
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FL 06 Statement Covers Period (From - Through) 
 

Required.  Enter the “From” and “Through” dates covered by the services on the invoice 
(MMDDYY).  Your facility may not bill for two separate months on one claim form. 

 
NOTE A:  “Split” billing.  An ICF-A may not “split” a Medical Assistance bill for services 

rendered during one calendar month unless there is a gap in the patient’s 
eligibility during the month that results in a new admission. 

  
FL 07  Reserved for Assignment by NUBC 

 
 Not Used 
 
FL 08a Patient Name – Identifier   
 

Not Required.  
 
FL 08b Patient Name.    

 
Required.  Enter the patient’s name as it appears on the Medical Assistance card: last name, first 
name, and middle initial.  (Please print this information clearly.) 

 
FL 09, 1a-2e Patient Address  

 
Optional.  Enter the patient’s complete mailing address, as follows: 

   Line 1a -- Enter the patient address – Street (or P.O. Box) 
   Line 2b -- Enter the patient address – City  
   Line 2c -- Enter the patient address – State 
   Line 2d -- Enter the patient address –Zip  
   Line 2e -- Enter the patient address –Country Code (Report if other than USA) 
 
FL 10  Patient Birth Date  

 
Required.  Enter the month, day, and year of birth (MMDDYYYY).  Example:  11223333 

 
FL 11  Patient Sex 

 
Not required.  Enter the patient’s sex as recorded at admission, outpatient service, or start of care. 
 

       M – Male           F – Female          U – Unknown 
 
FL 12  Admission/Start of Care Date  
 

Required on all inpatient claims.  Enter the start date for this episode of care (MMDDYY).  For 
inpatient services, this is the date of admission.  Enter the Admission/Start of Care Date as 
(MMDDYY).  ICF-A facilities enter the date of admission for the first month of billing only.    
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FL 13 Admission Hour  

 
Required on all inpatient claims except for bill type 021x.  Enter the code for the hour during 
which the patient was admitted for inpatient care from the following table: 
 
CODE STRUCTURE: 

 
Code Time    Code  Time 
00  12:00-12:59 Midnight  12  12:00-12:59 Noon 
01  01:00-01:59   13  01:00-01:59 
02  02:00-02:59   14  02:00-02:59 
03  03:00-03:59   15  03:00-03:59 
04  04:00-04:59   16  04:00-04:59 
05  05:00-05:59   17  05:00-05:59 
06  06:00-06:59   18  06:00-06:59 
07  07:00-07:59   19  07:00-07:59 
08  08:00-08:59   20  08:00-08:59 
09  09:00-09:59   21  09:00-09:59 
10  10:00-10:59   22  10:00-10:59 
11  11:00-11:59   23  11:00-11:59 
 

FL 14 Priority (Type) of Visit 
 
Required for inpatient billing only.  Enter the code indicating priority of this admission. 
 
Code Structure – Priority (Type of Visit) 

1 Emergency The patient requires immediate medical intervention as a 
result of severe, life threatening or potentially disabling 
conditions.  Generally, the patient is admitted through the 
emergency room 

2 Urgent The patient requires immediate attention for the care and 
treatment of a physical or mental disorder.  Generally the 
patient is admitted to the first available and suitable 
accommodation. 

3 Elective The patient’s condition permits adequate time to schedule the 
availability of a suitable accommodation. 

4 Newborn Use of this code necessitates the use of a special Source of 
Admission code - see FL 15. 

5 Trauma Center Visit to a trauma center/hospital as licensed or designated by 
the state or local government authority authorized to do so, or 
as verified by the American College of Surgeons and 
involving a trauma activation. (Use Revenue Code 068x to 
capture trauma activation charges.) 

 
FL 15  Source of Referral for Admission or Visit 
 

Required for all inpatient admissions except for bill type 021x.  Enter the code indicating the 
source of the referral for this admission or visit.  Optional for outpatient claims. 
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Code Structure:  Source of Referral for Admission or Visit 
1 Physician Referral Inpatient:  The patient was admitted to this facility 

upon the recommendation of his or her personal 
physician. 

2 Clinic Referral Inpatient: The patient was admitted to this facility upon 
recommendation of this facility’s clinic physician. 

3 HMO Referral Inpatient:  The patient was admitted to this facility 
upon the recommendation of a health maintenance 
organization physician. 

4 Transfer from a Hospital 
(Different Facility) 

Inpatient:  The patient was admitted to this facility as a 
hospital transfer from a different acute care facility 
where he or she was an inpatient. 

5 Transfer from a Skilled 
Nursing Facility 

Inpatient:  The patient was admitted to this facility as a 
transfer from a skilled nursing facility where he or she 
was a resident. 

6 Transfer from Another Health 
Care Facility 

Inpatient:  The patient was admitted to this facility as a 
transfer from a health care facility other than an acute 
care facility or a skilled nursing facility.  This includes 
transfers from nursing homes, long term care facilities 
and skilled nursing facility patients that are at a non-
skilled level of care. 

7 Emergency Room Inpatient:  The patient was admitted to this facility 
upon the recommendation of this facility’s emergency 
room physician. 

8 Court/Law Enforcement Inpatient:  The patient was admitted to this facility 
upon the direction of a court of law, or upon the request 
of a law enforcement agency representative. 

9 Information not Available 
NOT USED 

Inpatient:  The means by which the patient was 
admitted to this hospital is not known. 

  
FL 16 Discharge Hour  
  

Not required. 
 

FL 17 Patient Status   Required 
 

Required for all inpatient claims.  Enter a code from the code structure below indicating the 
patient’s disposition or discharge status at the time of billing for that period of inpatient care. 
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Code Structure: 
01  - Discharged to self or home care (routine discharge) 
02  - Discharged/transferred to another short-term general hospital for inpatient care. 
03  - Discharged/transferred to skilled nursing facility (SNF). 
04  - Discharged/transferred to an intermediate care facility (ICF) 
05  - Discharged/transferred to another Type of Health Care Institution not Defined Elsewhere 

in this Code List (i.e., designated cancer hospitals & children’s hospitals). 
 Definition effective 10/1/07: 
 Discharged/transferred to a Designated Cancer Center or Children’s Hospital 
06  - Discharged/transferred to home under care of organized home health service 

organization. 
07  - Left against medical advice or discontinued care. 

      20  - Expired 
30  - Still a patient 
43  - Discharge/Transferred to a Federal Healthcare Facility 
50  - Hospice – Home 
51  - Hospice – Medical Facility (Certified) Providing Hospice Level of Care 
61  - Discharged/Transferred to a Hospital-based Medicare Approved Swing Bed 
62  - Discharged/Transferred to an Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility (IRF) including 

Rehabilitation Distinct Part Units of a Hospital 
63  -  Discharged/Transferred to a Medicare Certified Long Term Care Hospital (LTCH) 
64  - Discharged/Transferred to a Nursing Facility Certified under Medicaid but not Certified 

under Medicare 
65  - Discharged/Transferred to a Psychiatric Hospital or Psychiatric distinct Part Unit of a 

Hospital 
66  - Discharged/Transferred to a Critical Access Hospital (CAH) 
70 Definition effective 10/1/07: 

Discharged/transferred to another Type of Health Care Institution not Defined Elsewhere 
in this Code List (see Code 05) 

 
FL 18-28 Condition Codes 
 
  Not required. 
 
FL 29  Accident State 

 
Not required.  

 
FL 30  Reserved for Assignment by NUBC 

 
 Not Used 

 
FL 31-34 a b Occurrence Codes and Dates    
 

Required when there is an Occurrence Code that applies to this claim.  Enter all dates as 
MMDDYY.  Enter the appropriate Medical Assistance Occurrence Code and Date defining a 
significant event relating to this bill from the table below. 
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The Occurrence Span Code fields can be utilized to submit additional Occurrence Codes when 
necessary by leaving the THROUGH date blank in FL 35-36.  As a result, up to 12 Occurrence 
Codes may be reported. 
 
Report Occurrence Codes in alphanumeric sequence (numbered codes precede alphanumeric 
codes) in the following order:  FL 31a, 32a, 33a, 34a, 31b, 32b, 33b, 34b. If there are Occurrence 
Span Code fields available, fields 35a FROM, 36a FROM, 35b FROM and 36b FROM may then 
be used as an overflow.  After all of these fields are exhausted, FL 81 (Code-Code field) can be 
used with the appropriate qualifier (A2) to report additional codes and dates (see FL 81 for 
additional information).   
 
Note A:  Occurrence Codes should be entered in alphanumeric sequence. However, report any 
Occurrence Codes required to process your Maryland Medicaid claim first; then continue to 
report other Occurrence Codes as needed in alphanumeric sequence.  Maryland Medicaid will 
only capture 12 Occurrence Codes, including those reported in FL 81. 
 
Note B:  Any hospital inpatient Type of Bill (TOB) with frequency codes 1or 4 must report 
occurrence Code 42 - Date of Death/Discharge.     

 
Code Structure – Occurrence Codes & Dates: 

24 Date Insurance Denied Code indicating the date the denial of coverage 
was received by the hospital from any insurer. 

25 Date Benefits Terminated by 
Primary Payer 

Code indicating the date on which coverage 
(including Worker’s Compensation benefits or 
no-fault coverage) is no longer available to the 
patient. 

42 Date of Discharge Use only when “Through” date in FL 6 
(Statement Covers Period) is not the actual 
discharge date and the frequency code in FL 4 is 
that of a final bill (1 or 4). 

 
FL 35-36a b Occurrence Span Codes and Dates  

 
Required when there is an Occurrence Span Code that applies to this claim.  These codes 
identify occurrences that happened over a span of time.  Enter the code and associated beginning 
and ending dates defining a specific event relating to this billing period.  Enter all dates as 
MMDDYY. 
 
Report Occurrence Span Codes in alphanumeric sequence (numbered codes precede 
alphanumeric codes) in the following order:  FL 35a & 36a, 35b & 36b.  After all of these fields 
are exhausted, FL 81 (Code-Code field) can be used with the appropriate qualifier (A3) to 
indicate that Occurrence Span overflow codes are being reported.  The third column in FL 81 is 
12 positions, which accommodates both the FROM and THROUGH date in a single field (see 
FL 81 for more information). 
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Code Structure - Occurrence Span Codes and Dates: 

74 Non-Covered Level of Care/Leave 
of Absence Dates 

The From/Through dates for a period at a non-
covered level of care or leave of absence in an 
otherwise covered stay, excluding any period 
reported by Occurrence Span Code 76, 77, or 79 
below.  

 
Code 74:    Code 74 is to be used for leave of absence (LOA) days non-covered by the 

Medicaid Program.  
  If FL 35-36a,b equal 74, the occurrence code date span must equal only those 

dates non-covered.  FL 06 must include dates for both covered and non-covered 
days.   

 
FL 37  NOT USED 
 
FL 38  Responsible party name and address 
 

Not required.  
 
FL 39-41 a-d Value Codes and Amounts 
 

Required when there is a Value Code that applies to this claim.  A code structure to relate 
amounts or values to data elements necessary to process this claim as qualified by the payer 
organization. 
 
FLs 39a - 41a must be completed before the ‘b’ fields, etc.  Whole numbers or non-dollar 
amounts are right-justified to the left of the dollars/cents delimiter.  Do not zero fill the positions 
to the left of the delimiter. Negative numbers are not allowed except in FL 41.   
  
If all the Value Code fields are filled, use FL 81 Code-Code field with the appropriate qualifier 
code (A4) to indicate that a Value Code is being reported (see FL 81 for more information). 
 
Note:   Value Codes should be entered in alphanumeric sequence. However, report any Value 

Codes required to process your Maryland Medicaid claim first; then continue to report 
other Value Codes as needed in alphanumeric sequence.  Maryland Medicaid will only 
capture 12 Value Codes, including those reported in FL 81. 

 
Code Structure – Value Codes and Amounts: 
80(a) Covered days The number of days covered by the primary 

payer as qualified by the payer. 
81(a) Non-Covered Days Days of care not covered by the primary payer. 

(a)Do not use on v. 004010/004010A1 837 electronic claims (use Claim Quantity in Loop ID 
2300 | QTY01 instead). 
 
Note: Codes 80, and 81 must be submitted showing the number of covered and non-covered 
days when applicable. 
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FL 42  Revenue Codes 
 

Line 1.  Enter the four-digit numeric revenue code 0100, All Inclusive Room and Board Plus 
Ancillary. 
 
Line 23 - The 23rd line contains an incrementing page count and total number of pages for the 
claim on each page, creation date of the claim on each page, and a claim total for covered and 
non-covered charges on the final claim page only indicated using Revenue Code 0001. 

 
To assist in bill review, revenue codes should always be listed in ascending numeric sequence. 
The exception is Revenue Code 0001, which is used on paper claims only and is reported on 
Line 23 of the last page of the claim.  Accommodations must be entered first on the bill and in 
revenue code sequence.  Revenue codes must not be repeated on the same bill. 

 
FL 43 Revenue Descriptions    
 
 Not required.   
 
FL 44 HCPCS/Accommodation Rates/HIPPS Rate Codes  
 

Not required. 
 
FL 45 Service Date 
   

Line 1-22:  Not required.     
 
  Line 23:  Enter Creation Date (MMDDYY) 

Required.  Enter the date the bill was created or prepared for submission.  Creation Date on Line 
23 should be reported on all pages of the UB04. 

 
FL 46  Units of Service    
 

Required.  Enter the total number of covered accommodation days, where appropriate and 
defined by revenue code requirements.  There must be a unit of service for every revenue code 
except 0001.  

 
NOTE:  Units of service must include the total of both covered and non-covered services when 
you are billing total covered and non-covered charges in FL 47.   
 

FL 47 Total Charges 
 

Total charges pertaining to the related revenue code for the current billing period as entered in 
the statement covers period (FL 06).  Total charges include both covered and non-covered 
charges.   

 
Line Item Charges 
Required - Line 1.  Line items allow up to nine numeric digits (0,000,000.00); 7 positions for 
dollars, 2 positions for cents. 
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Total (Summary) Charges 
Required on Line 23 of the final claim page using Revenue Code 0001.   

 
The 23rd line contains an incrementing page count and total number of pages for the claim on 
each page, creation date of the claim on each page, and a claim total for covered and non-
covered charges on the final claim page only indicated using Revenue Code 0001.   

 
(Revenue code 0001 is not used on electronic transactions; report the total claim charge in the 
appropriate data segment/field according to the electronic companion guides). 

 
FL 48 Non-Covered Charges 
 
  To reflect the non-covered charges as they pertain to the related revenue code. 
 
  Line Item Non-Covered Charges 

Required if needed to report line specific non-covered charge amounts. Lines 1-22.  Line items 
allow up to nine numeric digits (0,000,000.00); 7 positions for dollars, 2 positions for cents. 
 
Total (Summary) Non-Covered Charges 
Required on Line 23 of the final claim page using Revenue code 0001 when there are non-
covered charges on the claim.   
 
The 23rd line contains an incrementing page count and total number of pages for the claim on 
each page, creation date of the claim on each page, and a claim total for covered and non-
covered charges on the final claim page only indicated using Revenue Code 0001.   
 
(Revenue code 0001 is not used on electronic transactions; report the total claim charge in the 
appropriate data segment/field according to the electronic companion guides). 
 
All charges in FL 48 will be subtracted from total charges in FL 47. 
 
NOTE: If your facility has opted to bill only covered charges in FL 47 then this column 

will be blank.  This column should not be blank for hospitals billing for Code 74, 
Leave of Absence Dates in FL35.  

 
FL 49  Reserved for Assignment by NUBC 
 
  Not used 

 
FL 50 a,b,c Payer Name 
 

Optional. 
First line, 50a is the Primary Payer Name.   
Second line, 50b is the Secondary Payer Name.   
Third line, 50c is the Tertiary Payer Name.   
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Multiple payers should be listed in priority sequence according to the priority in which the 
provider expects to receive payment from these payers. 
 
Note:  If other payers listed, Medicaid should be the last entry in this field. 

 
FL 51 a,b,c Health Plan Identification Number 
 

Not required. 
 

FL 52 a,b,c Release of Information Certificate Indicator 
 
  Not required 
 
FL 53 a,b,c Assignment of Benefits Certification Indicator 
 
  Not required 
 
FL 54 a,b,c Prior Payments - Payer  
 

The amount the provider has received (to date) by the health plan toward payment of this bill.  
 

Enter the amount paid by the health plan on lines a, b, or c according to Payer Name(s) in FL 50. 
 
DO NOT REPORT MEDICARE PRIOR PAYMENTS IN THIS FIELD. 

 
FL 56  National Provider Identifier (NPI) – Billing Provider 

 
Required.  The unique identification number assigned to the provider submitting the bill; NPI is 
the10-digit national provider identifier.  Beginning on the Medical Assistance NPI compliance 
date of July 30, 2007, when the Billing Provider is an organization health care provider, the 
organization health care provider will report its 10-digit NPI or its subpart’s NPI in FL 56.   

 
Note:  Organizational health care providers must continue to report proprietary legacy identifiers 
necessary for Maryland Medicaid to identify the Billing Provider entity in FL 57 Lines a-c. 

 
FL 57 a,b,c Other (Billing) Provider Identifier - Legacy 

 
Required.  A unique identification number assigned to the provider submitting the bill by the 
health plan.  Enter the Maryland Medicaid Legacy 9-digit provider number. 
 
The UB04 does not use a qualifier to specify the Other (Billing) Provider Identifier.  Use this 
field to report other provider identifiers as assigned by the health plan (as indicated in FL50 
Lines a-c). 
 

FL 58 a,b,c Insured’s Name 
 

Not required.   
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FL 59 a,b,c Patient Relationship to Insured 
 

Not required.   
 

FL 60 a,b,c Insured’s Unique ID 
 

Required.  Enter the 11-digit Medical Assistance number of the insured as it appears on the 
Medical Assistance card. If billing for a newborn, you must use the newborn’s Medical 
Assistance number. 

 
If there are other insurance numbers shown, such as Medicare, then the Medicaid identification 
number should appear last in the field. 
 
REMINDER:   
 
Providers may verify a patient’s current Medical Assistance eligibility by calling the Eligibility 
Verification System/Interactive Voice Response (EVS/IVR) line: 

 
Toll-Free Number for the entire State: 1-866-710-1447 

 
WebEVS: Providers may verify a patient’s current Medical Assistance eligibility by using 

the new web-based eligibility services available for providers who are enrolled in 
EMedicaid.  To access this service, click on: www.emdhealthchoice.org

  
FL 61 a,b,c Insured’s Group Name 
 

Not required.   
 

FL 62 a,b,c Insured’s Group Number 
 

Not required.   
 

FL 63 a,b,c Treatment Authorization Code 
 
  Not required. 
   
FL 64 a-c  Document Control Number (DCN) 

 
Not required. 
 

FL 65  Employer Name (of the Insured) 
 
Not required.   
 

FL 66  Diagnosis and Procedure Code Qualifier (ICD Version Indicator) 
 

Not required. 
 
   

http://www.emdhealthchoice.org/
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FL 67  Principal Diagnosis Code and Present on Admission Indicator 

 
Principal Diagnosis Code 
 
Required.  Enter the 5-digit ICD-9-CM code describing the principal diagnosis (i.e., the 
condition established after study to be chiefly responsible for occasioning the admission of the 
patient for care).   
 
Always code to the most specific level possible, but do not enter any decimal points when 
recording codes on the UB-04. 
 
Follow the official guidelines for ICD reporting.  Refer to the Official ICD-9-CM Guidelines for 
Coding and Reporting for additional information. 

 
The ICD-9-CM codes will be used for inpatient and outpatient services. 

 
NOTE A:  The principal diagnosis code will include the use of “V” codes.  The “E” codes 

are not acceptable for principal diagnosis. 
 
Present on Admission (POA) Indicator – Not Required: All Fields 

 
FL 67 a-q Other Diagnosis Codes   

 
Required.  Enter the 5-digit ICD-9-CM diagnoses codes corresponding to all conditions that co-
exist at the time of admission, that develop subsequently, or that affect the treatment received 
and/or the length of stay.  Exclude diagnoses that relate to an earlier episode which have no 
bearing on the current hospital stay. 
 
Enter the appropriate ICD-9-CM diagnosis code (co-morbidity) in FL 67a that determines the 
DRG selected. 
 
Completion of FL 67 c-q are currently optional as our data processing system will accept one 
principal and three co-existing diagnoses. 
 
NOTE A: Other diagnoses codes will permit the use of “V” codes and “E” codes where 

appropriate.  
 

FL 68  Reserved for Assignment by NUBC 
 
  Not Used 
 
FL 69  Admitting Diagnosis 
 
  Not required 
 
FL 70 a,b,c Patient’s Reason for Visit Code 
 
  Not required 
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FL 71 Prospective Payment System (PPS) Code  
 
 Not required.   
 
FL 72 a-c External Cause of Injury Code (ECI or E-Code)/POA Indicator 

 
Not required. 
 

FL 73 Reserved for Assignment by NUBC 
 

Not used. 
 

FL 74  Principal Procedure Code and Date    
 

Not required for ICF-A facility billing. 
 
FL 74 a-e Other Procedure Codes and Dates  
 

Not required for ICF-A facility billing. 
 

FL 75  Reserved for Assignment by NUBC 
   
  Not used. 
 
FL 76  Attending Provider Name and Identifiers  
 

Required.  The Attending Provider is the individual who has overall responsibility for the 
patient’s medical care and treatment reported in this claim. 

 
Line 1 Inpatient: Enter the 10-digit NPI number required by the Centers for Medicare & 

Medicaid Services (CMS) for the physician attending an inpatient.  This is the physician 
primarily responsible for the care of the patient from the beginning of this hospitalization. 

 
  Line 2 Attending Physician Name 
   Not required.  Last name, First name 
 
FL 77 Operating Physician Name and Identifiers  
 
  Not required.   
 
FL 78 Other Provider (Individual) Names and Identifiers 
 

Not required 
 

FL 79  Other Provider (Individual) Names and Identifiers 
 
  Not required 
 



FL 80  Remarks 
 

 Not required 
 
FL 81 a-d Code-Code Field 

 
Situational.  To report additional codes related to a Form Locator (overflow) or to report 
externally maintained codes approved by the NUBC for inclusion in the institutional data set. 
 
Where applicable, providers should use taxonomy codes as noted. 
Left Column:   Middle Column:  Right Column: 
1 field (Code Qualifier) 1 field (Code)   1 field (Number or Value) 
 
Notes: Code List Qualifiers: 

 
 B3 Required.  Health Care Provider Taxonomy Code. 

 
Used for Billing Provider only. Use the appropriate taxonomy code accompanying for the 
age groups indicated. You must submit the accompanying designated taxonomy code 
listed to assure appropriate reimbursement from the Medical Assistance Program. 
 
 

Specialty  Bill Type(s) Subspecialties  Taxonomy 
Code 

ICF-Addictions IP: 651, 652, 653, 
654, 655  

Substance Disorder 324500000X  
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