
 

MARYLAND 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts53 

State Population 5,633,597 
Population-Ages 12-20 711,000 
        Percentage Number 
Ages 12-20 
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 27.3  194,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 17.0  121,000 

Ages 12-14  
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 6.0  15,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.9  7,000 

 Ages 15-17  
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.6  54,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.5  36,000 

 Ages 18-20  
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 53.7  125,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 33.6  78,000 

                                                 
53 Overall population information is taken from 2008 population estimates based on 2000 Census data. Data about 
the portion of each State’s population comprised of 12- to 20-year-olds is averaged from 2005, 2006, 2007, and 
2008 NSDUHs (SAMHSA, CBHSQ, NSDUH, special data analysis, 2009), as are facts about past-month alcohol 
use and binge use. Additional references for data in this section can be found in Appendix C.  
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Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)   99 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)   5,869 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers With BAC >.01        15.0                     16 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited WITH THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTION(S): 
 Parent/guardian consent 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and youth cannot purchase for law enforcement purposes.  

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense 
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure 

Provisions targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older 
 Specific affirmative defense: the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid 

Notes: In Maryland, a licensee or employee of the licensee may not be found guilty of underage 
furnishing if the person establishes to the satisfaction of the jury or the court sitting as a jury that 
the person used due caution to establish that the person under 21 years of age was not, in fact, a 
person under 21 years of age if a nonresident of the State. This constitutes a general 
affirmative. In contrast, if the person is a resident of the State of Maryland, the licensee or 
employee of the licensee may accept, as proof of a person’s age, the person’s driver’s license or 
identification card as provided for in the Maryland Vehicle Law. In addition, beginning October 
1, 2006, the licensee or employee of the licensee may accept, as proof of a person’s age, a 
United States military identification card. See Md. Ann. Code, Art. 2B, § 12-108(a)(3)(ii)-(iii). 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit: 0.00 

 Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation: 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial  
 Underage possession 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction  
 Discretionary 

Length of suspension/revocation 
 Minimum: 30 days 
 Maximum: 90 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age: 15 years, 9 months  
 Minimum learner stage period: 6 months  
 Minimum supervised driving requirement: 60 hours—10 of which must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age: 16 years, 3 months 
 Unsupervised night driving: 

 Prohibited after 12 a.m. 
 Primary enforcement of the night driving rule 

 Passenger restrictions exist:  
 No passengers under 18, except relatives 
 There is no primary enforcement of the passenger restriction rule 

License stage 
 Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17 years, 9 months 
 Passenger restrictions expire 151 days after issuance of intermediate license 
 Unsupervised night driving restrictions remain until age 17 years and 9 months if full 

licensure is obtained 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited WITH THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTION(S):  
 Private residence AND EITHER  
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 

Notes: Maryland’s exception allows furnishing of alcohol to minors by members of their 
“immediate family” when the alcoholic beverage is furnished and consumed “in a private 
residence or within the curtilage of the residence.” See Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 10-
117(c)(1) beginning October 1, 2002, and Md. Ann. Code 1957 art. 27, § 401A(c)(1) prior to 
October 1, 2002. 
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Responsible Beverage Service 
Mandatory beverage service training for licensees, managers: 
 Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
 Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer 18 
 Wine 18 
 Spirits 21 

Notes: Maryland statutes allow for exceptions by specific localities within Maryland that may 
have more or less restrictive laws on the age to sell or serve alcoholic beverages.  

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer 18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine 18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Notes: Maryland statutes allow for exceptions by specific localities within Maryland that may 
have more or less restrictive laws on the age to sell or serve alcoholic beverages.  

Dram Shop Liability 
There is no dram shop liability.  

Social Host Liability  
There is no social host liability.  

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties: 
 Action by underage guest that triggers violation: possession, consumption 
 Property type(s) covered by liability law: residence, outdoor, other 
 Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party: KNOWLEDGE—host must 

have actual knowledge of the occurrence 
 Exception(s): family 

Direct Sales/Shipments From Producers to Consumers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted. 

Keg Registration 
Keg definition: at least 4 gallons. 
Prohibited: 
 Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—max. fine/jail: $500 ($1000 if repeat violation) 
 Destroying the label on a keg—max. fine/jail: $500 ($1000 if repeat violation) 
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 Purchaser information collected: 
 Purchaser’s name and address: verified by a government-issued ID 
 Warning information to purchaser: not required 
 Deposit: not required 
 Provisions specifically address disposable kegs 

Notes: Although Maryland does not require a retailer to record the number of a keg purchaser’s 
ID, it does require that the purchaser’s name and address be recorded as they appear on the 
purchaser’s identification. Effective July 1, 2008, retailers in Prince George’s County must also 
record the purchaser’s identification number. 
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