FOR CHILD OR ADOLESCENT UNIT OF MARYLAND STATE FACILITIES

BHA FACILITY 2ND PHYSICIAN’S, PSYCHOLOGIST’S or PSYCHIATRIC NURSE PRATITIONER’S ENDORSEMENT

I have examined 







, and I find that:

1. The individual has a mental disorder;

2. The mental disorder is susceptible to care or treatment;

3. The applicant understands the nature of the request for admission.

· I certify that I am licensed under the Health Occupations Article, Title 14, Annotated Code of Maryland, to practice medicine in the State of Maryland.
· I certify that I am licensed under the Health Occupations Article, Title 18, Annotated Code of Maryland, to practice psychology in the State of Maryland.
· I certify that I am licensed under the Health Occupations Article, Title 8, Annotated Code of Maryland, to practice nursing as a psychiatric nurse practitioner in the State of Maryland.

Printed Name of Physician or Psychologist





        Address
(or for State Hospitals only - Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner)
Signature of Physician or Psychologist 



         Date
        Time         Telephone Number

(or for State Hospitals only - Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner)
HEALTH-GENERAL ARTICLE

§10-610.  Application by parent or guardian.
(a)   Applicant. -- On behalf of a minor, a parent or guardian of the person of the minor may apply, under 
        this section, for admission of the minor to:

(1) Any facility that is not a State facility; or

(2) The following State facilities:

(i) A regional institute for children and adolescents; and

(ii) The child or adolescent unit of a State facility.

(b)   Application. -- The applicant shall submit a formal, written application that contains the personal 

        information and is on the form required by the Administration.

(c)   Admission limitations. -- A facility may not admit an individual under this section unless:

(1) The individual has a mental disorder;

(2) The mental disorder is susceptible to care or treatment;

(3) The applicant understands the nature of a request for admission; and

(4) Assent to the admission has been given:

(i)
By the admitting physician of the facility; or

(ii)
For a child or adolescent unit of a State facility, by:

1. A physician and psychologist;

2. 2 physicians; or
3. A physician and psychiatric nurse practitioner.

(d)   Retention limited. -- An admission under this section to a child or adolescent unit of a State facility may 

        not exceed 20 days. 
§10-803.  Voluntary admissions.

(a)  Informal request. — An individual who is admitted voluntarily to a facility, on an informal request, may leave the facility at any time between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m., unless the admission status of the individual has been changed to an involuntary admission.

(b)  Formal applications. — An individual who has been admitted voluntarily, under a formal written application, may not be held for more than 3 days after the individual asks for release, unless the admission status of the individual has been changed to an involuntary admission.

(c)  Formal applications — Minors.  —  A minor who has been admitted voluntarily, on the application of a parent or guardian of the minor, may not be held for more than 3 days after the applicant for the admission asks for release, unless the admission status of the minor has been changed to an involuntary admission.  
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